SOUTH FLORIDA AFL-CIO



Representing the Unions of the South Florida Labor Movement

Serving Miami -Dade & Monroe Counties

4349 NW 36th Street Miami Springs, FL 33166 Phn: (305) 615 - 2671

May 11th, 2020

The Honorable Senator Marco Rubio 7400 SW 87th Avenue, Suite 270 Miami, Florida 33173

Dear Senator Rubio,

The Labor Movement has always advocated for policies to allow working people to support their family. We have played a critical role in building a 21st century family-friendly workplace. Considering the COVID-19 Pandemic Congress has passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act) to provide fast and direct economic assistance for American workers, families, and small businesses, and preserve jobs for our American industries.

Currently labor unions, as a result of our 501(c)(5) designation, are ineligible to qualify for the Paycheck Protection Program. This is a serious oversight and labor unions will need to play an integral part in the rebuilding of our economy.

We, the undersigned unions and our members call on you to advocate for the desperate inclusion of labor unions into any future relief packages in order to meet eligibility relief from the Cares act Paycheck Protection Program. Thank you for your consideration.

In Solidarity,

(III)

Richard Quincoces LiUNA Local 1652 Vice President, South Florida AFL-CIO

Jeffery Mitchell President, Transport Workers Union Local 291 President, South Florida AFL-CIO

JA W. Zill

Terrence Mckenzie

Business Agent, IATSE 500

President, OPEIU-GSAF Local 100

President, ILA Local 1416

Josh Zivalich

President, Teamsters Local 769

Daniel Villanus

Daniel Villarruel

Business Manager, Sheet Metal Workers Local 32

Bill Riley

Business Manager, IBEW 349

Karla H

President, United Teachers of Dade

Yosvany Torres **Business Manager**

Iron-Workers Local 272

Mark Schaunaman

President, South Florida Building Trades Council

Business Manager, IUOE Local 487

Miguel Aragon

Business Manager, LiUNA Local 1652

Walter of Algran

Walter Ilczyszyn

Business Manager, IUPAT DC 78

Kenneth E. Scott, Jr.

Business Manager, UA Local 725

Wanda Harris,

President

American Postal Workers Union, Local 172

Martha Baker,

SEIU Local 1991, President

Se'Adoreia Brown

President, AFSCME Local 199

Antonio Eiroa/

President, AFSCME Local 1542

Richard Boehm

President, Transport Workers Union Local 504

Gary Schaible

President, Transport Workers Union Local 591

Wendi Walsh

Secretary-Treasurer, UNITE-HERE Local 355